not a spirit of fear

Happy Tuesday y’all!

Yesterday was MLK day, now Nick nor I had the day off work, but I love holidays in Midland. Everyone leaves! It sort of reminds me of home.  Growing up in a college town gave me this love for peaceful streets – they were available during hot summer months and sporadic school holidays.  This emptiness set me up for a great morning grocery trip. HEB – where everything’s better.  This place can be great. For a large, mass grocery store, they rock at having low prices on organic or natural foods. I’ve been very impressed since moving to Midland. However, if you hit this place at the wrong time, or the wrong day – it can be, frankly, a nightmare. I am talking about my grocery store trip so much because I am determined to be a more MINDFUL shopper with a… (drum roll please)… budget!!!

We are currently going through the process of moving into our first house! And for me this large, exciting purchase comes fear. I shared this purchase and fear with a few of my morning workout class participants one lady reminded of the 2 Timothy 1, where we are told that God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and love and self-control. Read the whole chapter, its short, and you won’t regret it. It has been a week and I keep meditating on this verse, and thinking what does this mean for me?

I believe one of my greatest struggles is fear. I fear I will let others down, I fear I will not be loved, I fear money, I fear my intentions; I fear failure.

This house purchase (and the budgeting) has surfaced many of my fears. And I am becoming thankful that it has; I needed the reminder that God has given me a spirit of Power, and Love, and Self-Control.  Instead of curling up and ignoring the fact that there’s a lot that goes into owning a home – I am taking it on (with my husband of course) – and am going to enjoy this new endeavor!

 

rbeatrice

2 thoughts on “not a spirit of fear

Leave a Reply

