Why do you Run?

The NYC Marathon was this past weekend, and after the organization, Runner’s World, asked several people, “Why do you Run?” No, I did not run in this marathon, nor have I ever ran in a marathon, but I can tell you why I run.

Ephesians 3:20
Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.

1 Peter 4:11
If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Psalm 46:1
God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

This is why I run. I run because when I am on my feet putting one foot in front of the other I feel the strength and the power God has given me. This is one aspect in my life I do not take for granted. I know how it feels to be weak; to have the ability of running taken away from me. Severely mal-nourishing my body is something that I struggled with in the recent past. I I slowly gained muscle back, and the same exercise that had helped in my extreme weight-loss became the exercise that brought strength and weight back to my body. Simply, I run because I am safe in the hand of God, and through the strength I feel during and after each run I feel the power of God.

This is why I run. Why do YOU run?

Leave a Reply

